Celebrity Face Mashups Seriously Messes With Your Mind When Your Favorite Celebs Get Merged

Behold the uncanny freakshow that is these celebrity face mashups undertaken by Instagram user gesichtermix. Armed with Photoshop the digital artist combines the faces in such a subtle way the result is truly bizarre.

It's like an optical illusion, a quick glance and you'll pick out the features of one celeb, stare at it for longer and the other celeb will start to appear in strange ways.

Don't believe me? Take a quick look at the image of three celebrities (well, actually six)above and after a while you will see them change from one to the other.

The German artist started doing these remixed portraits back in 2002 but said that computers were so slow it took a very long time to blend them. These days he can do it in an hour or two.

"Of course the best thing is if they have something to do with each other like Jimmy Fallon or Jimmy Kimmel," said the artist. "But often I see that the images will just fit quite well. Like the images of Russell Brand and Emma Watson, because they both look into the same direction. Sometimes finding photos is the hardest work, though. I wanted to do Prince William and his wife Kate, but there are no good photos of William. He almost never looks into the camera."

Play the game, William!

Check out some of the eerie hybrids below. And check out gesichtermix's Instagram for more.

Bono and Ed Sheeran

Bono and Ed Sheeran mixed. #bono #bonovox #u2 #edsheeran #edsheran #singer #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #mashup #celebritymashup #singersongwriter #musician #photoshop

Katy Perry and Rihanna

Another version of Katy Perry mixed with Rihanna #rihanna #katyperry #photoshop #morpher #facemix #gesichtermix #mashup

Shaquille O'Neal and 50 cent

Shaquille O'Neal and 50 cent mixed #50cent #shaq #shaquilleoneal #shaquileoneal #shaquilleoniel #facemix #gesichtermix #photoshop #mashup #morpher #lalakers #lakers #basketball #orlandomagic #miamiheat #phoenixsuns #clevelandcavaliers #bostonceltics #curtisjackson #halfadollar

Russell Brand and Emma Watson

Emma Watson and Russell Brand mixed #emmawatson #russellbrand #russelbrand #emmawhatson #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #photoshop #mashup #comedian #actress #harrypotter #hermione

Angela Merkel mixed with Barack Obama

Angela Merkel mixed with Barack Obama #angelamerkel #barackobama #obama #potus #president #chancellor #bundeskanzlerin #uspresident #photoshop #art #facemix #gesichtermix #morpher #mashup #politics #politician #merkel

Sean Penn mixed with Leonardo DiCaprio

Sean Penn mixed with Leonardo DiCaprio #seanpenn #leonardodicaprio #leonardodecaprio #leonardodicabrio #shawnpenn #photoshop #actor #mashup #facemix #morpher #gesichtermix #dicaprio #leodicaprio

Natalie Portman mixed with Scarlett Johansson

Natalie Portman mixed with Scarlett Johansson #natalieportman #nathalieportman #scarlettjohansson #scarlettjohannsson #scarlettjohannson #scarletjohansson #facemix #actress #gesichtermix #mashup #morpher #photoshop

Justin Timberlake mixed with Justin Bieber

Justin Timberlake mixed with Justin Bieber #justintimberlake #justin #timberlake #justinbieber #photoshop #morpher #gesichtermix #facemix #mashup #belieber #justinbiber

Donald Trump mixed with Hillary Clinton

Donald Trump mixed with Hillary Clinton (again) #donaldtrump #hillaryclinton #potus #president #uspresident #2016election #americavotes #photoshop #strangehair #strangehairstyle #uglypeople #transgender #facemix #gesichtermix #thedonald #hillarytrump #donaldclinton #morpher

Christoph Waltz and Benedict Cumberbatch

Christoph Waltz and Benedict Cumberbatch mixed #christophwaltz #christophwalz #benedictcumberbatch #benediktcumberbatch #sherlock #sherlockholmes #actor #austrianactor #britishactor #germanactor #schauspieler #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #mashup #photoshop #cumberbatch #smaug #khan #hanslanda

Claire Danes and Jennifer Lawrence

Claire Danes mixed with Jennifer Lawrence #clairedanes #jenniferlawrence #morpher #mashup #photoshop #actress #facemix #gesichtermix #homeland #hungergames

Charlie Sheen and Ashton Kutcher

Charlie Sheen and Ashton Kutcher mixed #charliesheen #charlysheen #aplusk #ashtonkutcher #twoandahalfmen #actor #gesichtermix #facemix #photoshop #mashup #morpher

Taylor Swift and Emma Stone

Taylor Swift and Emma Stone mixed #taylorswift #emmastone #gesichtermix #facemix #mashup #celebritymashup #morpher #photoshop #tailorswift #taylorsvift #gwenstacy #actress #singer #swift

Nathan Fillion and Neil Patrick Harris

Nathan Fillion and Neil Patrick Harris mixed #nathanfillion #natefillion #castle #nph #neilpatrickharris #howimetyourmother #himym #gesichtemix #facemix #morpher #mashup #celabritymashup #photoshop #actor #schauspieler #barney #barneystinson #richardcastle #abc

Kendall and Kylie Jenner

Kendall and Kylie Jenner mixed #kendalljenner #kyliejenner #jenner #kardashians #keepingupwiththekardashians #kuwtk #gesichtermix #model #morpher #facemix #itgirl #mashup #celebritymashup #photoshop #thekardashians #thejenners #sisters #jennersisters #thejennersisters #kendaljenner

Tom Cruise mixed with John Travolta

Tom Cruise mixed with John Travolta #cruise #travolta #tomcruise #johntravolta #scientology #actor #photoshop #morpher #facemix #gesichtermix #mashup

Jimmy Kimmel and Jimmy Fallon

Jimmy Kimmel and Jimmy Fallon mixed #jimmykimmel #jimmyfallon #thetonightshow #tonightshow #jimmykimmellive #kimmel #fallon #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #photoshop #mashup #celebritymashup #nbc #abc #latenight

Emily Blunt and Christina Ricci

Emily Blunt and Christina Ricci mixed #emilyblunt #emilyblund #emilyblond #christinaricci #cristinaricci #christinarichie #actress #gesichtermix #facemix #britishactress #morpher #photoshop #mashup

Ben Affleck and Daniel Day-Lewis

Ben Affleck and Daniel Day-Lewis mixed #benaffleck #benafleck #danieldaylewis #danieldeylewis #danieldaylouis #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #photoshop #mashup #actor #batman #lincoln

Cher and Britney Spears

Cher and Britney Spears mixed #cher #britney #britneyspears #spears #gesichtermix #moonstruck #facemix #mashup #singer #morpher #photoshop #celebritymashup #sängerin #musician #britneybitch

Lionel Richie and Michael J. Fox

Lionel Richie and Michael J. Fox mixed #lionelrichie #leonelrichie #lionelrichy #michaeljfox #michaeljeyfox #martymcfly #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #photoshop #mashup #actor #singer

Oprah and Beyoncé

Oprah and Beyoncé mixed #oprah #beyonce #beyoncé #beyonceknowles #beyoncéknowles #oprahwinfrey #gesichtermix #facemix #morpher #photoshop #mashup #celebritymashup #ophra #ophrah

Robert de Niro and Kevin Spacey

Robert de Niro and Kevin Spacey mixed #robertdeniro #deniro #kevinspacey #kevinspacy #houseofcards #actor #netflix #gesichtermix #facemix #lexluther #lexluthor #photoshop #morpher #mashup

Paris Hilton and Kim Kardshian

Paris Hilton and Kim Kardshian mixed #parishilton #kimkardashian #kimkardashianwest #kuwtk #gesichtermix #facemix #kimkardasian #kimkadashian #kimkardaschian #morpher #itgirl #mashup #celebritymashup #thekardashians #keepingupwiththekardashians #blonde